German Literature Month November 2011 – The Participants

This is just a quick update to let you know I’ve added a new page to the top of my blog in which you can find the names and blog addresses of the participants of our German Literature Month. There are some more who have no blog, they have not been forgotten and are as appreciated as the others.

The list is the same as the one you can find below. All those who have been highlighted have reviewed a considerable amount of German books or already done an introductory post. You might want to visit them to find something to read and review in November. If I have forgotten or not highlighted someone, please leave a comment or send me an e-mail and I will include it as soon as possible. The list will be updated on a regular basis. Please also let us know when you do an introduction or anything else, I will include it. It might help others to find reading suggestions.

AS OF NOVEMBER 1 2011 THE LINKS TO PEOPLE’S POSTS WILL BE ADDED ON THE GERMAN LITERATURE MONTH PAGE BUT I STILL ADD THE BLOGS 

1morechapter – Michelle

50 Year Project – TBM

A Book Sanctuary – Tracey

A Common Reader – Tom C Effi Briest Review

A Hot Cup of Pleasure – Neer Introduction

Andrew Blackman – Andrew Blackman

Ardent Reader – Christina

A Work in Progress – Danielle AnnouncementIntroduction with 13 choices

Beauty is a Sleeping Cat – Caroline

Book Around the Corner – Emma – Introduction with choices

BookeyWookey – ted

Books Without Any Pictures – Grace – Introduction

Caravana de Recuerdos – Richard

Ceri

chasing bawa – sakura

Curious Incidents in the North East – Katie Introduction

Dr Ruth Martin – Ruth Martin

Dr. K  – ludogutten

Everybookhasasoul – Sara Introduction with choices

Farm Lane Books – Jackie Introduction

His Futile Preoccupations – Guy Savage Introduction with choices

in lieu of a field guide – Rise – Introduction with choices and links to older posts

Iris on Books – Iris

Leben, Kochen, Bier u. Fussball – Harvey

Leroyhunter

Lizzy’s Literary Life – Lizzy Siddal

Mar gheall ar a léim – Eibhlin – Introduction

Polychrome Interest – Novroz

Reader in the Wilderness – Judith Introduction with choices

Read, Ramble – Fay – Introduction with proposed reading

Rikki’s Teleidoscope – Rikki – Introduction

seraillon – Scott W.

sub rosa – Sigrun Introduction with choicesPreparations on HandkeWho is Thomas Bernhard?

Susanna

Susie Bookworm – Susanna P

Tabula Rasa – Priya Introduction with possible choices

The Argumentative Old Git  – Himadri

The Children’s War – Alex Baugh

The Parrish Lantern – Parrish

The Reading Lives – Mel u

Time’s Flow Stemmed – Anthony – Introduction and reading plans,  Introduction Part II

Tony’s Reading List – Tony  Introduction with choices

Tortoisebook – Liz

Vishy’s Blog – Vishy Introduction with choices

Who Killed Lemmy Caution? – Daryl – Introduction

Winstonsdad’s Blog – Stu Introduction with list and reading plans

Wuthering Expectations – Amateur Reader (Tom)  –Introduction with choices focusing on plays

AS OF NOVEMBER 1 2011 THE LINKS TO PEOPLE’S POSTS WILL BE ADDED ON THE GERMAN LITERATURE MONTH PAGE

26 thoughts on “German Literature Month November 2011 – The Participants

  1. This is lovely – so nice to be able to see everyone who’s participating! I am leaning more and more towards doing the Musil. I figure I’ll never read it without a challenge like this and it will be fun to commit a month to working my way through it. Also can’t wait to see what everyone else does!

    • Thanks, Litlove. I thought it might be nice to be able to pop around and see other’s choices. And there are quite a few blogs I didn’t know before who look very interesting.
      I would love to read Musil as well but at this point in time it wouldn’t be realistic, it would take me longer than a month unless I’d read hardly anything else. Should you read him I’m looking forward to your review or essay.

    • Yes, Musil please! I would love to read about it. I have read Young Törless twice but have never started on the big one.

      Menine Frau suggests that The Man without Qualities is a fine book to read in pieces over a lifetime and never quite finish.

      • I read Törless and got Drei Frauen here which is certainly good as well. I think Deine Frau makes a lot of sense. If I remember correctly he didn’t finish the book, so that approach makes even more sense.
        I any case I think, even if Litlove doesn’t finish it, she could write posts in between.

  2. Thanks for the links (and the tabbed page–much easier to find the posts when they are together). I’ll have to check out the links and look for reading suggestions. I’m already looking forward to this.

    • You are welcome. But please, don’t feel put under pressure. Even a novella will do. I’m glad you think it is easier. It’s always quite an effort to link everything. 🙂

      • I think I will be looking for very short novels or a good crime novel, which if done well are so gripping that you can’t put it down. Have you read Petra Hammesfahr? I tried her book about doppelgangers but I couldn’t finish it–not sure if it was the writing style or translation, but I have heard her other book (another Bitter Lemon Press title) is supposed to be very good. Do you have any good crime suggestions? I’ll be looking through links, too!

        • I have read a few Hammesfahr but I thought she wasn’t very subtle. There is one that isn’t bad but it hasn’t been translated yet. I will read Ingrid Noll and think you should try finding one of her novels. She is a very good writer and the books are psychological thrillers with a bit of black humor. How about Swiss crime? You could read Dürrenmatt, quite gritty. And Glauser. Back to Germany. Lizzy reviewed von Schirach (stories based on true crime, I think) recently and Juli Zeh (more literary). Both sounded excellent. But Fitzek etc. are not that good. Hopefully if there will be a German crime wave, the good ones will be translated eventually. For the time being the majority is soso. But Noll is fantastic!

          • I have The Spoke by Glauser, which was his last book (probably doesn’t matter which order to read them?). I will order something by Noll I think–I can find cheap used copies, which will hopefully get here in time as they come from the UK–she’s not been published here unfortunately. The others I will look up–thanks for the suggestions.

            • I don’t know which that is in German. Some of his books are part of a series and in that case it would matter a bit but they can be read independently. I thought it should be easy to find Noll. I will read The Pharmacist, I guess. I’ve read a few and enjoyed all of them.

  3. Thanks for the link, Caroline! I’m still deciding on what to read but it will probably be some Thomas Bernhard or an Andreas Maier that I have in my queue.

  4. Thanks Caroline! It is fun to read the introductory posts and see the exciting reading plans that everyone is making 🙂 Thanks for hosting this challenge! I am really excicted about it and I am busy making a reading list for it now. I just read a little bit about von Kleist in an essay and I want to add his books too 🙂 I will post on it soon, when my reading list is ready.

    • You are welcome. There is still a lot of time for choosing. Kleist was a complex and tragic character at the same time. His novellas are equally complex, I would say. I’m looking forward to your list!

    • You are welcome, Stu. Four already, that’s great. I’m looking forward to read your reviews. There are some German literature enthusiasts, I’m quite pleased. Also with the interest. It should be a great month.

  5. Pingback: Omnivore: Getting better all the time. | Who Killed Lemmy Caution?

  6. Pingback: German Literature Month: Impressions of Klausen | Who Killed Lemmy Caution?

Thanks for commenting, I love to hear your thoughts

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.