Thank you for the Liebster Award

First a big thank you to Janet Allen (Popcorn Dinner) for my nomination. We only just “met” and I already receive an award. That’s so nice.

Yes, I know, I don’t always accept awards, or let’s say, I do accept them but then I don’t play by the rules, meaning I don’t post about them let alone pass them on. But this time I do as I still feel “post-freshly pressed festive”. However I amended it a bit and only give it to 7 other bloggers. Addotionally I thought that for a change I will give the award not to pure book bloggers but to people who love reading and also blog about other things.

For those who will receive my award and would like to play by the rules here you go

1. Each person must post eleven things about themselves (I skipped this)
2. Answer the eleven questions the person giving the award has set for you
3. Create eleven questions for the people you will be giving the award to
4. Choose eleven people to award and send them a link to your post
5. Go to their page and tell them
6. No tag backs

Now on to Janet’s questions

1. What is your favourite movie of all time? (yep, only one)

I’m almost as interested in movies as in books, despite that fact it’s surprisingly easy for me to name my favourite movie. It’s Peter Weir’s Picnic at Hanging Rock. When I saw it for the first time I was about 14 and since then I have re-watched it at least 5 times. Every time I watched it I liked it more. Be careful however, if you’d like to watch it and haven’t seen it before, the Director’s Cut is shorter and lacks a few important scenes.

2. Where is your favourite city?

This is difficult. Hmmm. It shouldn’t be, right? You would all assume I would say: in France. But I’m not sure it really is my very favourite city. No, I think my favourite city is in England. And it is not London. (The way Janet asked this question it’s almost a bit like a quiz. Can you guess my favourite city?)

3. How old were you when you realized there was no Santa Clause and did it matter to you?

I think I was 9 and the discovery was a huge shock but not because I found out that there is no Santa Claus but because I found out my mother was a bad cheater. The story is quite funny  but at the time I did NOT think that at all. Every year me and my mother’s best friend’s son and the whole family gathered in the living room on the 6th of December. Invariably the doorbell would ring and Santa Claus would come in and look really scary. He would then take out a huge book and read every bad thing the both of us had done during the year. It was awful. He knew it all. Every single thing we had done. After that lecture we had to recite a poem (I still have a terrific memory) and would afterwards be forgiven and receive some presents and a warning. He told us that if we didn’t behave better next year, he would come and get us, put us in his bag and take us to God knows where Santa Claus lives. The year when I turned 9 my mother accidentally lost a piece of paper which I found and on it – to my utter shock – I saw a list of all of my and my friend’s misgivings which were meant to be passed on to Santa Claus. Santa Claus, it turned out,  was a neighbour especially hired for the occasion. I was mortified. That was the end of Santa Claus. The Easter Bunny died on the very same day. And my belief in motherly reliability.

4. If you won an Oscar, what would it be for?

I think I could receive it for several things. The script, the score, acting, most probably the script though.

5. What three famous people (living or dead) would you invite to a dinner party?

C.G. Jung, Mircea Eliade and Neil Gaiman. Yeah, I know, it’s not obvious but, believe me, there actually is a connection.

6. If you had 10 minutes alone with your country’s political leader what would you say?

I think that could be a one minute thing. I’d say: “Didn’t you find anything more useful to do with your time?”

7. What’s the hottest (temperature-wise) you’ve ever been?

The desert in Morocco. When I got out of the car I had the ingenious idea of picking up a stone because I wanted to take something back home. It actually  burned my fingers. Heat like that is hard to imagine if you’ve never experienced it.

8. If you could have one superpower, what would it be?

Be invisible.

9. Have you ever had a surprise birthday party?

No. My friends know me very well. That’s not something I would enjoy.

10. What was the first movie you ever saw in the theater?

It was a Sunday afternoon Disney Special but I cannot remember which one it was. I think it was Bambi.

11. What is your favourite thing to do on a rainy day?

Lying in bed, under the roof, listening to the rain and read.

So finally here are my 7 nomenees

Pearls and Prose

Jaquelin Cangro

50 Year Project

Underneath the Shell Novia’s second home (Polychrome Interest)

Andrew Blackman

The Peacocks Feather Danielle’s second home  (A Work in Progress)

Bayou Quilts Jenclair’s second home  (A Garden Carried in Your Pocket’s)

*****

Now comes the last part, my 11 questions. Just answer those you like.

1. Which is your favourite painting or photograph? (Add it or link to it)

2. If you could stay in another city for a year, which one would it be?

3. Which language would you like to speak and why?

4. Which is your favourite book cover?

5. What craft would you like to be great at?

6. Which is your favourite dish. Recipe included!

7. If you could design a garden what would it look like?

8. Which is your favourite song or piece of music? It can be one you just like at the moment or one you always loved.

9. If you could wake up in a movie (or book)  – which one and why?

10. What is your favourite piece of clothing or accessory?

11. What book are you reading at the moment?

*****

That’s it from festive me, as of tomorrow, there will be business as ususal,  book reviews and book related topics, the odd movie review and…

28 thoughts on “Thank you for the Liebster Award

  1. Thanks for making the exception and playing along, Caroline. I really enjoyed your post. I think I would very much like to be at that dinner party. And I’ll have to check out Picnic at Hanging Rock – I’ve never seen it. Always happy to have new movie recommendations!

    • You’re welcome, I liked the questions. Oh it would be an amazing dinner. I was starting to think about what we would discuss.
      I think icnic at hanging Rock is an amzing movie. It’s much more multi-layered than you’d think at first. It remnds me of a Merchant Ivory prodcution but with a very eerie twist.
      It is based on a book but I never read it as I was always afraid it would spoil the movie but it must be quite good too. I hope you will like it.

  2. Congratulations Caroline!

    I think that you and I once discussed “Picnic at Hanging Rock” but I very much share your appreciation. It is such an odd and haunting film. Images from that movie will stay with me forever!

    You know I only ever saw the directors cut, but I heard that the original explained a little more. I also heard that Weir cut the scenes because he wanted to add to the mystery.

    • Thanks, Brian. I know we discussed it.
      I don’t feel he added to the mystery by cutting, I feel he altered the atmosphere, it feels a bit more rushed as Director’s Cut.

  3. Congrats on the Liebster Award, Caroline!

    I have always been mesmerized by Picnic at Hanging Rock. I saw it the first time when I was such a young woman, and saw it recently with my Ken. Enormous fun, yet opens discussion for so many debates.

    It’s a film I’ll see again and again.

    Judith (Reader in the Wilderness)

  4. Thank you for the nomination Aunty Caroline 🙂
    The questions you gave us are interesting, but some can’t be answered by us, maybe Mommy should answer some question 😉

  5. I’ve never seen your favorite movie. I’ll have to add it to my list. You’ve watched it a lot, but I think I read once that you don’t like to reread your favorite books. I find that interesting. Maybe my memory is faulty though. I was five when I found out about Santa. I grew up with older kids so I suffered early in life. I still have hopes for the Easter Bunny though. Congrats on the award. You are having an awesome week! Thanks for nominating my blog. Have a wonderful weekend!

    • No, your memory isn’t faulty at all. I can re-watch movies x-times but hardly re-read. I hope you will like it.
      I’ve been really spoilt this week.
      You’re welcome. I enjoy your blog a lot. It combines a lot of different things I like too. 🙂

  6. Hi Caroline
    Thanks for tagging me! I like your questions, and will answer them, but probably not for a while, because things are busy right now. I’ll take a guess at your favourite city – Liverpool? How many guesses do I get? 🙂

  7. My god, Santa Claus as terrorist. Your mother could be a piece of work, couldn’t she? Or perhaps just a little too zealous in teaching children about the nature of rewards. I am right with you on surprise parties but can’t guess your favourite city – Bath? Oxford? Winchester?

    • I wonder if she realized how shocking it was for us but then she thought it wasn’t all that bad as she had an entirely horrific experience when she was little. The prentend Santa Claus put her in the back and dragged her for a while… She told me about it and at age 9 I thought our experience wasnt’t that bad. i think I hated the idea that she had been laughing about us behind our backs, seeing how puzzled and terrified we were that he knew it all. She enjoyed it loads. Bah.
      Surprise parties are a dreaful idea.
      You got the town right. It’s your first gueess!

  8. Thanks so much for nominating my blog, Caroline. I wish I had time to do this, but just don’t. I’m getting kind of overwhelmed right now, so need to scale back a bit to keep my sanity. 🙂

  9. Pingback: Three Liebster Awards « Polychrome Interest

  10. I can’t believe that I missed this post of yours! Loved the questions and your answers! I want to watch ‘Picnic on Hanging Rock’ sometime. Your answer to question no.6 (on what you would ask your country’s political leader) made me smile 🙂 I can’t believe that the rock you picked in Morocco was so hot! I also liked your answer to the Santa Claus question. It is sad when our childhood starts moving away from us after our realizations like this.

    • I think there were quite a few posts one after the other. 🙂
      Glad that you liked the answers. Picnic at Hanging Rock is such an amazing movie. I hope you can watch it. That stone was so hot, I couldn’t believe it.
      My mother was quite mad with herself that she let herself get caught. She could have gotten away with the Easter Bunny for a while longer but she confessed on that day.

  11. Pingback: Liebster Award reloaded | Andrew Blackman

Thanks for commenting, I love to hear your thoughts

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.