German Literature Month – Week I Links

What an incredibly successful Week I of German Literature Month this was. 

I think I’ve added all the links but let me know if one has escaped my attention.

Introduction to GLM (Tony’s Reading List)

Introduction GLM (Obooki’s Obloquy)

The Fury by Paul Heyse (The Reading Life)

Five from the Archive: Contemporary German Literature (Lizzy’s Literary Life)

Brigita and Rock Crystal by Adalbert Stifter (Tony’s Reading List)

German Literature Recommendations II – 89 Shorty Story and Novella Writers You Should Read (Beauty is a Sleeping Cat)

Introduction to GLM (The Little Red Reader Library)

Introduction GLM (A Fiction Habit)

Introduction to GLM (Vishy’s Blog)

Introduction to GLM (AJ Reads)

From the Diary of a Snail by Günter Grass (Winstonsdad’s Blog)

The Journey to the Harz by Heinrich Heine (Obooki’s Obloquy)

Introduction to GLM (Everybookhasasoul)

What not to drink when reading Matthias Politicky (Lizzy’s Literary Life)

Dyning by Arthur Schnitzler (Winstonsdad’s Blog)

Lieutnat Gustl and Fräulein Else by Arthur Schnitzler (Beauty is a Sleeping Cat)

The Collini Case by Ferdinand von Schirach (The Little Red Reader Library)

Introduction to GLM (Tabula Rasa)

German Literature – A Short Introduction by Nicholas Boyle (Vishy’s Blog)

Confusion by Stefan Zweig (His Futile Preoccupations)

Maybe This Time by Alois Hotschnig (Winstonsdad’s Blog)

Sea of Ink by Richar Weihe (The Prrish Lantern)

Love and Intrigues by Friedrich Schiller (Tony’s Reading List)

Two Poems Based on Folklore (Tabula Rasa)

Literature and War Readalong – Gert Ledig (Beauty is a Sleeping Cat)

Translation Duel – Death in Venice by Thomas Mann (Lizzy’s Literaray Life)

The Fairy Tale by J.W. von Goethe (A Work in Progress)

The Pigeon by Patrick Süskind (Vishy’s Blog)

Next World Novella by Matthias Politycki (A Fiction Habit)

Prague German Writers: A List – A Guest Post by literalab (Beauty is a Sleeping Cat)

Prague German Writers (literalab)

Goethe’s Hermann and Dorothea and Heinrich Heine’s Germany. A Winter’s Tale (Tony’s Reading List)

Seven Years by Peter Stamm and EIBF report (everybookhasasoul)

The Reader by Bernhard Schlink (Vishy’s Blog)

Prague German Writers – Franzy Werfel’s A Palee-Blue Ink in  a Lady’s Hand – A Guest Post by literalab (Beauty is a Sleeping Cat)

Prague German Witers – Franz Werfel (literalab)

The Golden Pot by E.T.A. Hoffmann (Obooki’s Obloquy)

In Free Fall (aka Dark Matter) by Juli Zeh (Still Life With Books)

The Corrections by Thomas Bernhard (Winstonsdad’s Blog)

This Wednesday is Wunderbar (Lizzy’s Literary Life)

38 thoughts on “German Literature Month – Week I Links

  1. Thanks for the list Caroline – So many interesting looking blogs and books to check out! Still hoping to join in late in the month.

      • OK, since time is ticking away I will go with something short and at least for me safe. I am starting Hermann Hesse’s “Demian” tonight. Hesse is perhaps my favorite author and I have read many of his works but not this one. I should have commentary up for the last week of the month!

        • I love Hesse. Demian is part of a trilogy but you can read them as standalones. One of the two others, Steppenwolf, is set where I’m living. He might even have written it here. In the movie version you see the town.

          • I id not realize that Demian and Steppenwolf are related. I have read Steppenwolf and I am amazed by that work. I have also seen the movie but it has been awhile.

  2. This is so awesome, Caroline! German Literature Month rocks! I am still catching up on the posts of other participants and the sheer size of my ‘TBR’ list now is amazing and so exciting!

  3. That’s an impressive list of participants. I think I’ll go visit some of the blogs.
    I never really made a reading plan based on author’s origins, in fact the only German name that comes to mind right now is Goethe with his very sad and emotional The Sorrows of Young Werther. I really loved that book.

    • I didn’t expect it to be quite this successful this early on.
      Yes, Werther is a tragically beautiful book. Thinking of classics, I’m sure you would like E.T.A. Hoffmann.

  4. That’s quite an impressive list! It’s nice to see so many people joining in–I’ll have to check out those posts but will have to do so with pen and paper in hand as I am sure I’ll be adding titles to my reading list! Thanks so much for all the links!

  5. Wow, what a great event! November is really busy for me so I probably won’t be able to participate, but I’m enjoying visiting all these blogs and discovering some great books. Thanks to you and Lizzie for organising!!

Thanks for commenting, I love to hear your thoughts

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.