7 X 7 Link Award

I’ve been tagged by the lovely Novia from Polychrome Interest and received the 7×7 link award. This is a fun award and more than anything I hope that the people I’m going to tag will participate as well as we will get to read and re-read a few really great posts.

What is it all about?

1: Tell everyone something about yourself that nobody else knows.

2: Link to a post you think fits the following categories: The Most Beautiful Piece, Most Helpful Piece, Most Popular Piece, Most Controversial Piece, Most Surprisingly Successful Piece, Most Underrated Piece, Most Pride-worthy Piece.

3: Pass this on to 7 fellow bloggers.

While everyone seems to skip question 1,  almost everybody enjoys answering question 2. Admittedly not an easy question and I’m cheating. I have included posts from my movie blog.

The Most Beautiful Piece

I think my post on Niccolò Ammanitis’ novel I’m not scared was my most beautiful post. The book made me travel back to my own childhood and long-lost summers.

Most Helpful Piece

People were glad to read something about Indirect Translations and L2 Translations.

Most Popular Piece

10 German war movies. It had 30’000 views so far. It’s quite surprising.

Most Controversial Piece

I don’t think any post on this blog was very controversial with the exception of on Negative “Reviews” but that was a mild controversy. However there was a very controversial one on my movie blog on Movies on the Crusades. I was even tempted to close the comments section.

Most Surprisingly Successful Piece

I wrote a post on my German blog called Menschen, die zu viel reden – People who talk too much. It is surprisingly successful and viewed more often than the whole blog.

Most Underrated Piece

One of my earliest posts which I personally like got no comments and hardly any views. It was a post on Nora Murphy’s memoir Knitting the Threads of Time.

Most Pride-worthy Piece

A post on the movie Napola got me a quote on a DVD cover.

*****

Now it’s my turn to tag 7 people. I decided to include only book blogs.

Danielle from A Work in Progress. Danielle’s posts are very varied. Some are informative, some are entertaining, others lovely and many are full of book discoveries.

Guy from His Futile Preoccupations. Guy is by far the person who makes me buy the most books (followed closely by Danielle). Not only do I like his taste in books but I also enjoy that he writes so very well about them.

Emma from Book Around the Corner. Emma’s posts are very diverse, some are long and elaborate, others short and to the point but they are always full of interesting and nuanced insights into the books she has read.

Litlove from Tales from the Reading Room. Litlove writes on many different topics, mostly book related but also essays on interesting people and personal essays. All of her posts are well written and thought-provoking.

Richard from Caravana de Recuerdos. Just to put his name on the list made me grin. I have a feeling I know which could be the “most controverisal post” in his case. Richard has an interesting choice of lengths for his post. From three sentence pieces containing a deadly blow to longer and very soulful posts, you will find everything.

Stu from Winston’s Dads Blog. Stu is dedicated, passionate and never ceases to surprise me with his book choices and the enthusiastic posts he writes about them. How many great posts on books in translations have  I missed? Many I’m afraid.

Vishy from Vishy’s Blog. Another blog I have only discovered recently. Vishy has a very special way of combining personal anecdotes and book reviews. I’d love to read and discover some older posts that I may have missed.

Violet Still Life With Books. Don’t we all have a blog we secretly admire? Someone who writes like we would want to write? In my case it’s Violet. Since I’ve first visited her blog I loved the way she writes and her book choices. I’d love to discover her older posts.

I’d love to see all of your choices but don’t feel forced to particpiate.

32 thoughts on “7 X 7 Link Award

      • I’m afraid I don’t have 7 book blogs different from the ones you already tagged. Plus I’m not very good at self-assessment.

        I’ll think about it.

        • I know, it’s difficult. You can add the same blogs or mention that you chose others because I chose them already. There are still at least seven very interesting ones on your blogroll.

  1. Thank you so much for the tag and the mention – I’d love to take part, and I’ll be intrigued first to click through to your own choices! And I admit I’m also very curious to what Richard chooses too. Plus there are several bloggers who are new to me in your listing and I will have to check them out.

    • You are welcome and I’m glad you wil do it. I’m looking forward to your choices. Your blog has been around for a while and I’m sure there are older posts I’ve missed and would like but you can chose more recent ones of course. It may be easier when one writes a variety of posts that’s why I cheated a bit including the other blogs.

  2. Thanks for tagging me, Caroline 🙂 I loved the theme of the award. I want to read all those posts to which you have given links to. I also want to explore the other blogs to which you have linked. The ‘Most Beautiful Piece’ and the ‘Most Controversial Piece’ are the ones which intrigue me 🙂 I follow Stu’s and Emma’s blogs and love their posts. Now I want to explore the other blogs too. I am especially intrigued by Violet’s blog because of what you have said about her posts.

    • You are welcome Vishy. I’m looking forward to read your choices. I think it’s a great way to introduce others to blogs they might not normally visit. I like Violet’s blog a lot, she reads so many interesting books, a lot of non-fiction as well.

  3. Thanks for tagging me. I wonder if there is a way I can see which posts are the most popular on my blog–Typepad must keep stats of those sorts–will have to dig around a bit, but this gives me something to post about later in the week! 🙂 Now I need to go read your most underrated piece–it must have been before I started reading your blog as I think I have not missed too many posts since then. And I will have to check out your other tags–I recognize or read most of the others but I think I see at least one new to me blog there!

    • You are welcome. I think you will know most of the blogs I chose. WordPress does these kind of stats. On this blog it’s fairly even. There are a few posts that stand out but they get even visist. The comments are very different. I could have chosen that as “most successful”.
      The unnoticed one was one of the early posts that nobody saw, I think.
      It’s a great opportunity for us to get to read older posts of bloggers who have been blogging for a while, like you and Litlove.

  4. Pingback: 7 x 7 Link Award: my take « Book Around The Corner

  5. Thanks for the invite, Caroline, and for including me among such stellar company. I’ll see what I can do next week sometime, but I have to say that I feel my hands are tied given that there’s a “most beautiful piece” but no “most abrasive piece.” Tsk, tsk–so unfair! 😀

    • You are welcome. As I just answered to Stu, take your time. Yes, I know… Most abrasive in your case would have been the thing. I would love to read those I missed…

  6. Thank you for doing this Caroline 🙂
    I really am glad you managed to choose 7 posts from your many blogs.

    I agree that your post on Niccolo is really beautiful…it’s a beautiful review. I enjoy reading the translation post…I sure hope Indonesian translation can see that post and start translating for the original language.

    I will check the other posts later 🙂

    • You are welcome but I had to cheat, I feel it’s easier for those whose blogs are older than an almost pure book blog that is only 1 and half years old.
      Did you realize that your comment triggered the massive controversy on the Crusades post? I don’t think you did. Just because you said Kingdom of Heaven twisted the truth someone felt offended in his belief…and on and on and on…

        • I was a bit surprised and there are always new comments. People jump from one comment to the next and add theirs…
          I leave it because I find it interesting as there are really a lot of misunderstandings, people saying the exact same tging as someone else and not understanding it.
          It’s also interesting that I get often commants on old posts whereas on this blog hardly ever.

          • Most of them talked more about religion than the movie…I hope it wont tirn into bashing you.

            I am glad to read that warmoviebuff defended you.

            Eh..really? I wonder why…this blog of yours is really crowded with comments. Mine still has comments for old posts occasionally.

            • It was even directed against me nor against the list or the movie. It was one perosn interpreting something into something and that triggered it…
              I don’t know but I don’t get many comments on older posts and most other book bloggers say the same.

              • now that you have mentioned it, I don’t get comments on old book reviews either, rarely on old movie reviews. My comments often for turtle treatment, Larc en ciel and Cillian Murphy. I am so happy when a larc or cillian fans suddenly show up in my blog.

                I guess when it comes to review, people choose to read the new ones.

                • Yes, that’s it and I saw that on other people’s blogs, Emma and Guy who have posted the award, people had the same reaction and said it was a nice opportunity for getting comments on older posts. 🙂

  7. Pingback: 7 x 7 Award | Tales from the Reading Room

  8. I love this award! Gives me a good reason to read through some of your older posts. You also answered #1, indirectly – I had no idea you wrote a movie blog too, and also one in German! I was already in awe of your posting schedule on just this one blog, and am now truly flabbergasted. Do you sleep?

    • Thanks, Andrew. I’m sorry to say I hardly ever sleep less than 8 hours and I work full-time. 🙂
      I was very glad to see Emma nominated you.
      I wasn’t aware at first that it had a “chain-mail” element, I only saw the opportunity to look at older posts. I’m glad you saw it like that as well.

  9. Pingback: Something you didn’t know about me | Andrew Blackman

Thanks for commenting, I love to hear your thoughts

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.